Workshops and events

Strategic Litigation Against Public Participation – Crushing down anti-corruption defenders

Online

30 September 2021

Organiser: U4 Anti-Corruption Resource Centre

Strategic Litigation Against Public Participation (SLAPP) has become common in many countries. The UK, EU members states, and USA are among the most frequent jurisdictions used for these lawsuits. However, they are becoming increasingly more common around the world.

Companies, public officials, and high-profile persons initiate SLAPP against media and civil society organisations as well as individuals such as journalists, activists, researchers, and whistleblowers.

Such lawsuits are powerful legal tools that aim at stopping, suppressing, and silencing those that speak out to defend the public interest, protect the environment and human rights, or combat corruption and tax evasion.

SLAPP has devastating effects. It threatens democracy, undermines the right to freedom of expression, and deals a moral and financial blow to the defendants.

Through this webinar, you will hear stories from journalists, whistleblowers, and civil society organisations that work to uncover corruption and tax evasion. They describe the consequences of SLAPP and point to opportunities for action for donor agencies.

Please get in touch if you have questions: Sophie Lemaître, sophie.lemaitre@cmi.no

When

Thursday 30th September 2021

  • 08.00 – 09.00 Ottawa, Canada
  • 14.00 – 15.00 Paris, France
  • 15.00 – 16.00 Nairobi, Kenya
  • 19.00 – 20.00 Bangkok, Thailand

Language

Choose to follow the webinar in English or French (simultaneous translation).

Speakers

Moussa Aksar, Investigative journalist, Director of the newspaper L’Evènement (Niger)
Susan Coughtrie, Project Director, Foreign Policy Centre
Henri Tulliez, Director, Platform to Protect Whistleblowers in Africa

Moderator

Sophie Lemaître, Senior Adviser, U4 Anti-corruption Resource Centre

Who is this webinar for?

U4 partners, their invited guests, open to all

Registration

The webinar will take place on Zoom. Register now to receive updates and further information before the event.

REGISTER

A link to join the webinar will be sent on your email address upon registration.

Related topics: Illicit financial flowsPeople's engagement

Hi!
I’m responsible for this event